The summer of 2007 was cataclysmic and catalytic for me. My annual physical revealed an overweight, out-of-shape 47-year-old in July. An August visit to the dermatologist revealed, among other things, a malignant melanoma on my back. The short story is that the malignancy was caught early in a “shallow” state and there’s been no recurrence of the cancer, as confirmed by Dr. Rand again this morning.

I’ve made some changes over these intervening years. I’m still a little overweight and I have to take some medication for blood pressure. And, Dr. Rand had her assistant “freeze” some pre-cancerous spots today, but I’m in better shape at almost 55 than I was at 47.

While talking with Dr. Rand today, I was reminded of that in-between time following the removal of the malignant melanoma. Left untreated, that cancerous area could certainly have been life threatening.

The few days between the excision and the official “we got it all” were interesting for me.  It got me to thinking about what I would do if the prognosis was less positive.  What would I do if I found out I might not have long to live?

While I’ve had good intentions to actually pull a book together, the subject matter of said book would offer encouragement to say what needs saying now.

Two of my blogs over the last couple of years touched on the idea:

https://michaeltalj.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/redemption-shows-up-in-unexpected-places/

https://michaeltalj.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/the-last-time/

I thank God for the gift of life and another day to live it!

With so much anger and divisiveness in our public discourse, is there any way to break that cycle? I think we can. It starts with the words we use.

Is there something you need to say to someone today?

