Reposting some thoughts about how we leave lasting impressions… Like the venerable Howard Olds, longtime pastor at Brentwood UM Church used to say, “Make it a good day!”

The Space Between

We’ve heard it all our lives when someone has what may be termed a “near-death” experience – “I saw my life pass before my eyes.”  For me, this past Sunday was almost one of those.  However, I didn’t see a thing until the potential game-ender had already happened.

In addition to my work as an assistant to Trevecca president Dan Boone, I’m now in my 11th year of coaching the Lady Trojans golf team.  Sunday was very nearly my last day on the job – ANY JOB!!

I was at Hermitage Golf Course, one of middle Tennessee’s most beautiful pieces of God’s handiwork.  I was checking up our team’s practice round and chatting with a couple of coaches from other schools.  And that’s when it happened.

All that came between me, an errant tee shot from a Lindsey Wilson player, and a tee time in heaven was a thin piece…

View original post 771 more words

