Waking up this morning in Overland Park, KS in advance of General Board meetings for the Church of the Nazarene. My life is deeply rooted in the work of Nazarenes, but I also have many friends who are not Nazarene or who once were. This blog was written last summer, but I thought it appropriate to share again today. I’m praying for our church and every other branch of the Church today. Praying that we are all a part of God’s redemptive work in the world.

The Space Between

Most of my life has been connected, in varying degrees, with a body of Christians known as the Church of the Nazarene. There have been several meaningful associations throughout my life, notably in school and a couple of workplaces, but virtually everywhere I’ve been and everything I’ve done has had some sort of attachment to Nazarenes and/or their institutions.

At the outset, I could say – and probably should – that anything in which people are involved will offer the prospect of joy or pain or a little of both. That’s been my experience, for sure, even in my beloved church.

So, after 53 years of living under the shadow of the Nazarene wing of evangelical Christianity, I’ve been asking myself why I’m still there. It’s clear that many of my generation, and even more of those younger than myself, have left for other congregations or denominational affiliations.

Am I…

View original post 798 more words

